April 25, 2009

Weekly Genealogy Blogging Prompt #16 – My Goals

Posted in Genealogy at 9:48 am by hoosierroots

Out there in the vast community of genealogy blogging, a weekly theme is posted encouraging GeneaBloggers to “stay with it.” As I am just restarting my blogging, and moving it towards my family history research – it feels like serendipity that this week’s prompt is:

Week #16: Goals. Not just for resolutions anymore. Write down your genealogy goals. Then you can look back and see what you’ve accomplished.

What makes this prompt even more relevant is that I am participating in the “Professional Genealogy 2 Study Group”, an 18 month journey through the topics of the book Professional Genealogy. This month the focus topic is on Time Management, which has a lot to do with goal setting.

In today’s post I am going to list my seven high level genealogy objectives. Then this week I will expand each into specific, actionable goals.

  1. Identify and document the lives of my children’s ancestors.
  2. Breathe life into these ancestors by accumulating details, expanding the research into their families and neighbors, and putting them into their historical and social context.
  3. Creatively share the information and stories of the family of yesteryear with the extended family of today in a way that sparks the interest of those less passionate about family history.
  4. Continually expand knowledge of genealogy methods and records through both formal and informal education.
  5. Give back to the genealogy community through meaningful volunteer activities and collaborative efforts.
  6. Collect and preserve the family heirlooms for the generations to come.
  7. Capture the family memories of today for they are the family history of tomorrow.
9 Comments »

  1. […] in Kitchen at 8:09 am by hoosierroots I am nearing the end of turning my list of seven genealogy objectives into actionable […]

  2. […] in Abbott, Genealogy at 5:29 am by hoosierroots A couple of days ago I listed my seven genealogy objectives. Now it is time to turn these rather lofty objectives into actionable […]

  3. […] in Creative Sharing, Genealogy, Scrapbooking at 11:54 am by hoosierroots I am continuing turning my list of seven genealogy objectives into actionable […]

  4. […] in Genealogy at 12:32 pm by hoosierroots Now that  I have listed my seven genealogy objectives, I am setting  actionable goals for each […]

  5. […] in Creative Sharing, Genealogy at 7:13 pm by hoosierroots A few  days ago I listed my seven genealogy objectives. Now I am turning  these rather objectives into actionable […]

  6. […] in Genealogy, Stover at 7:33 am by hoosierroots Yesterday I listed my seven genealogy objectives, which are generic enough they are likely similar to the goals of many, if not most, family […]

  7. […] in Creative Sharing, Genealogy at 6:09 am by hoosierroots I am at the end of turning my list of seven genealogy objectives into actionable goals. Last, but not […]

  8. […] little over four years ago I wrote seven genealogy goals. They were intended to be high level and withstand the test of time. […]

  9. […] 2009 I wrote seven genealogy goals. They were intended to be high level and withstand the test of time. In 2013 […]


Leave a Reply

