April 26, 2009

Genealogy Objective 1 – Identify Ancestors

Posted in Genealogy, Stover at 7:33 am by hoosierroots

Yesterday I listed my seven genealogy objectives, which are generic enough they are likely similar to the goals of many, if not most, family historians. Now it is time to turn these rather lofty objectives into actionable goals.

Objective 1: Identify and document the lives of my children’s ancestors.

This is in essence what genealogy is. And of course, it is the objective we can never complete, because every time we find a new answer – add a new name to the tree – two more questions are created. But despite the knowledge we can never “win the whole game”, we keep at it.

This is also the objective that perhaps I traditionally have the most trouble turning into specific goals. With so many ancestors I tend to flit from line to line. And while I certainly have made a lot of progress over the years, I think I could be much more productive if I kept focused.

So, I am going to use this opportunity to create a specific research goal, including setting a date to review my progress.

Goal 1a: Document life of great-great-grandmother, Martha Metheny (sp?)(27 Aug 1839 OH – 04 Dec 1879 IN)(m. William B. Stover), accessing primary records where possible. Look to verify parents as Thomas and Abagail (–unknown–) Metheny. Create research plan. Maintain log of research performed. Pay particular attention to way surname is spelled in records. Look for information on siblings as well. Join surname mail lists and post query. Formally review progress by June 30, 2009.

1 Comment »

  1. Susie said,

    Is this Erma Ruth McCord Jones’s maternal grandmother? I can’t wait to find out what you discover about her.

    I like and am inspired by the decision you have made to maintain a log of your research and the fact that you have set a specific date to “formally review your progress.”


Leave a Reply

