September 7, 2013

Prompt 1. Ask yourself 20 times “Who are you?”

Posted in The Book of Me at 1:19 pm by hoosierroots

DCW

  1. I am Deborah Catherine Marvel Wesley, daughter of William Frederick and Martha Catherine (Jones) Marvel, and wife of Jon David Wesley.
  2. I am the mother of three wonderful adult children, Christina, Christopher, and Michael.
  3. I am the younger sister of Susan Elizabeth Marvel.
  4. I am a niece, a cousin, a daughter-in-law, a sister-in-law, a mother-in-law, an aunt, and a great-aunt.
  5. I am a friend to a few very special women.
  6. I am a neighbor, in a neighborhood where I have lived since I was thirteen months old.
  7. I am Director of Information Technology at Vertellus Specialties Inc., a global specialty chemical manufacturing firm.
  8. I am a family historian, a family archivist, and a genealogist.
  9. I am a cook, a maid, and an errand runner.
  10. I am a photographer – capturing family events and beautiful scenery.
  11. I am a dog owner and a dog trainer.
  12. I am a 4-H Leader – with most of 4-H time now being devoted to 4-H Dog Agility. It occurs to me the day may soon be coming when it will be time to let this one go in order to concentrate on other interests.
  13. I am a book reader – historical fiction and suspense being my favorites. I still prefer the physical book to an ebook, but I am starting to see one advantage to ebooks – less storage required.
  14. I am a gardener – although in recent years it is a bit tough to tell.
  15. I am a child of God, imperfect, yet loved by our Heavenly Father.
  16. I am a seventh generation Hooiser and a third-generation American (all depending on which family line I count.)
  17. I am an English-Irish-Scottish-German- (and according to my recent DNA test) – Sweedish-Finish-Asian all American “mutt.”
  18. I am a collector of tea cups and frogs, and most recently sugar bowls.
  19. I am a camper, treasuring past trips, and eagerly looking forward to more adventures with my hubby, as well as with some friends.
  20. I am a computer geek – loving the latest technology, even when it is not work related, and very happy to have a new, screaming fast, desktop PC for photo and video editing.
  21. I am a exploring cook after 30+ years of fixing evening meals, pushing my standard repertoire, using new ingredients, and new techniques.
  22. I am a Colts fan – feeling a little guilty that NFL now commands more interest from me than basketball, but sill love the Indiana Pacers.
  23. I am a sporadic scrapbooker, always planning to do more, but knowing that whatever I do complete is a treasure.
  24. I am a woman who knows I should exercise, but keeps putting off getting restarted.
  25. I am a wanna-be crafter, with more projects in mind than time – primarily sewing, quilting, crocheting, and needlework.
  26. I am a nature lover – trees, birds, wild flowers, butterflies – who thinks sometimes I need to stop and just sit and breath and enjoy the view.
  27. I am a 55 year-old (for a few more days) who can being to see the signs of aging – reading glasses, gray hair at the temples, an occasional sore foot or hip, and realizes it is time to stop putting off what I want to do.
Leave a Reply

