September 7, 2013

Setting Goals

Posted in Goals at 11:13 am by hoosierroots

A little over four years ago I wrote seven genealogy goals. They were intended to be high level and withstand the test of time. Underneath each goal, I would then define projects that would lead me towards that goal. I have made some progress on those listed projects over the past years. Not surprising, there is also much I did not accomplish. As I prepare to embark on the next chapter of my research, I am pleased to find the goals I wrote in 2009 are still solid. The only change I am making to the goals is to reorder them. (A little earlier I posted a bit about why the “now” must take priority over the past.)

  1. Capture the family memories of today for they are the family history of tomorrow.
  2. Collect and preserve the family heirlooms for the generations to come.
  3. Identify and document the lives of my children’s ancestors.
  4. Breathe life into these ancestors by accumulating details, expanding the research into their families and neighbors, and putting them into their historical and social context.
  5. Creatively share the information and stories of the family of yesteryear with the extended family of today in a way that sparks the interest of those less passionate about family history.
  6. Continually expand knowledge of genealogy methods and records through both formal and informal education.
  7. Give back to the genealogy community through meaningful volunteer activities and collaborative efforts.

In the coming week I will expand upon each of these.

1 Comment »

  1. […] I wrote seven genealogy goals. They were intended to be high level and withstand the test of time. In 2013 I reviewed and confirmed these goals were still valid. As I attempt to reboot my research, once […]


Leave a Reply

