April 5, 2015

Objective: Genealogy Magazines

Posted in Goals at 11:15 am by hoosierroots

To be effective, my objectives need to 1) have a deadline, and 2) be broken into manageable tasks. I am going to start at the end of the list – for they are the easiest to tackle. Also, I am not including the various newsletters I receive in email; I will develop a separate plan for those.

Selectively read incoming and backlog of genealogy magazines and journals.

Dealing with the backlog first, I currently have 18 genealogy magazines on my “need to read” stack. (I am going to ignore then many, many more that are older sitting in a bookcase.)

Two of the eighteen are the recent issues of The NEHG Register and National Genealogical Society Quarterly, the scholarly journals of those societies.

I have two issues of American Ancestors, two issues of Connections and one issue of Traces (both from the Indiana Historical Society.)

There are nine issues of NGS Magazine, the quarterly news and “how-to” publication from the National Genealogy Society. I was surprised to find this is half the stack. Probably because it is my favorite of all the above. I read it cover-to-cover, so it takes longer.

I also have one issue each of Internet Genealogy and Your Genealogy Today. These are the only non-society magazines in the stack. I used to subscribe to several publications, but have now dropped all but the society publications. I decided between the society publications and blogs I have plenty to read.

So – that is the stack. And of course more will arrive. My objective will be to read the above 18 issues by the end of June – June 2015 that is. That is a little over one magazine a week. I have a couple travel weeks between now and the end of June which are great opportunities for a little extra reading time. I will endeavor to not read every word of every magazine, but concentrate on the articles most relevant to my research, or case studies which highlight a technique I need to improve.

I will place incoming magazines on the bottom of the stack. If I am successful with the backlog, I will have a handful to read the following quarter. None of the publications I currently receive are monthlies – they range from every-other-month to twice a year, with most being quarterlies.

Thus my official task for this quarter:

  • Read at least one back issue genealogy magazine a week, clearing backlog by June 30, 2015.
Leave a Reply

