April 5, 2015

Objective: Read a Book

Posted in Goals at 6:13 pm by hoosierroots

Read Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques

Due in large part to – no, due entirely to the Amazon e-credit I gathered from the “no rush shipping option” during the holiday season, I “bought” two new genealogy books for my Kindle. I have yet to make up my mind whether I like the Kindle. I had never felt tempted to buy a Kindle, but I won one as a door prize. I have occasionally downloaded library books to it before flying someplace. For some reason, spending money on e-books seems really odd to me. But there I was with Amazon credits which could only be used on e-media, and to my surprise, while the credits were seldom valid on popular, recent fiction – they were good for some genealogy books, including a few that have been on my wish list. So I chose two

I have decided to first read Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques by George Morgan and Drew Smith, also known as the Genealogy Guys from their popular podcast. The reviews are mixed – some feeling it is not “advanced enough.”

My goal will be to finish reading it by the end of June. One drawback of e-books to me is it is a little harder to tell how many pages there are in the book. There are 9 chapters, so I will aim for 3 chapters a month.

  • Read Advanced Genealogy Research Techniques by June 30, 2015.
Leave a Reply

