April 13, 2015

Objective: Read Blogs

Posted in Goals at 6:03 am by hoosierroots

Read well-written genealogy blogs

Genealogy blogs are a good way to keep abreast of current events, track philosophical discussions on how to best create a “proof”, and be inspired to “keep at it.” They can also be a major drain of time. At my peak I followed 60 genealogy blogs, in 2009 I had whittled the list to 44, and last fall I was reading a little over 35. Progress.

Over the winter my life was taken over with family needs, and I fell off the blog-reading wagon. I do want to return, but in a sensible manner. When Google Reader was discontinued a while back, I switched to Feedly to manage my blog reading. It has been months since I have “check-in” there.

As a way to restart, I will spend 30 minutes 3 times a week reading genealogy blogs. I will flag posts I find especially useful. At the end of April I will review the flags, with the goal of paring my list down to my favorite 20 blogs.

  • Read well-written genealogy blogs three times each week
  • Reduce blog list to 20 by April 30.
Leave a Reply

